Things Aren’t Bad

I’m trying hard not to be a ball of stress, but it’s proving difficult. I got a promotion at work. I’m now in Human Resources and I get weekends off and 40 hours a week and $10 an hour. It’s pretty nice on paper, but having a team of 50+ people depend on me for paychecks, schedules, benefits, etc is the biggest workload I’ve ever had. Not to mention being in charge of setting up interviews, running orientations, and getting training underway. It’s a lot to take care of, but I’m trying to just take it as it comes and not worry myself about the amount of stuff I’ll have to do the next day. If I can focus on one day at a time and take care of as much as I can, there’s no need to worry. But I can tell that I have been worrying because my body and brain are still trying to catch up. It would be nice to not let my job define me. I haven’t been talking about every detail/problem that I encounter daily, which is helping. I don’t need to reiterate what already happened. That’s just wasting time.

I went to a halloween party with friends this weekend, which helped take the edge off a little. Except I shattered Jon’s chandelier (no, not out of drunkenness, just out of clumsiness.)

I like things that make me feel like I used to. I found the Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban audiobook at Half Price Books for pretty cheap ($20 as opposed to $55), so I’ve been listening to that in my car on the way to work in the mornings. It puts me in a little bit of a better place for the day. I find that Harry Potter cures most things for me. Candy also helps.
I know it’s getting colder, but I just started listening to The White Stripes again, who always make me think of summer. Kinda. At least this one does.

I might cover this soon. I need something easy and fun to make. I’ve been toying with a Tennis song for a while now, and even though it’s mostly recorded I think I’m just gonna forget about it. It feels overworked. Actually, I’m going to make this a promise. By November 15th, I will have a song recorded and posted here. I need to do something creative for myself, but I need to set a goal so that I don’t just give up on it.

I will have a good week. I will have a good week.

Here’s my niece in her Bat Girl costume to end things on an extra high note.
IMG_6365 IMG_6337

This entry was published on November 1, 2015 at 10:30 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

