Nine Days

I spend most of my life worrying. Was it always this way? The past few years of college, all I’ve done is stress and stress over my work and grades. I literally make the Dean’s List every semester. Why do I worry? I know that I’m smart and will get everything done. But I’m afraid that if I just relax, my grades will slip away from me. As my penultimate semester comes to a close, relaxation is the riskiest thought I could have.

I found out I will have to pay a $75 late fee to apply for graduation. I don’t have all of my community service hours done, so applying now would be fruitless.

I don’t have a lot to say. I hate my actual job, but I love my internship. It’s ending in a matter of days, though. Working in the TV world has been a fantastic adventure! Now I can say I’ve had experience in all three communications fields. I have an interview on Tuesday for Music Director of my school’s radio station. It’d be sweet if I got the job, but I doubt I will. I’d only be able to do it for a semester, and they’re looking for a year-long student employee.

This semester has really taken a toll. A full schedule of classes and two jobs are catching up to me. I feel tired a lot. I want to be more active and go running all the time like I used to, but I just don’t have the energy. Any free second I get, I’d rather see Jon or my sister or simply watch a little TV. I remember when I had so much time, I’d just sit and listen to music. Or read. I haven’t been able to read for pleasure in months.
Okay, the complaining stops here. No need for that. I am fine. Better than fine.

I have a little over a week left of this semester. Then a glorious summer, then my final semester. Even though getting my minor in English isn’t an option anymore, I will be graduating with a degree in Journalism later this year. It only took me 3.5 years. I’m proud of that, and of myself. No more talk of being tired. I AM tired, but that’s part of what makes me satisfied with my efforts. No one said it would be easy, and thankfully I never fooled myself into thinking so.

snail2

This entry was published on April 27, 2014 at 11:48 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

