Things ‘n Stuff 2

Getting up early is the worst. And unfortunately, I have to do it three times a week for my internship. I know it’s worth it. Obviously. Definitely. Absolutely. But it sucks. All I can manage to do at 5:30 a.m. is be angry.

As well as being the first day of my internship, it is also the first day of the Spring semester. I kicked it off by being 12 minutes late to my first class.Did I really expect anything more from myself? I have one year left, and it’s getting truly tough to muster up any sort of excitement for school. I know this semester will pass just as quickly as any other, but I can never grasp that fact until it’s already over. Time is passing so quickly, yet all I ever want is for it to pass quicker. I wish I could shake myself and learn to enjoy my time here, but the sad truth is that I haven’t enjoyed myself since May of 2012. My first year was fantastic. I was free. But as time passes and classes get harder and the workload grows, everything is a chore.

I know this semester is going to be incredibly difficult with two jobs and a full class schedule, but I really don’t want to end it feeling exhausted. And I don’t want to feel resentment toward it either. I know it all depends on me, regardless of outside factors. If I can get a grip on myself, it won’t matter how busy I am. I need to stop thinking that free time is the goal.

I’m already sick of this post. I’m only writing it because I have a three-hour break between classes today.

I’m going to hash out a few reasonable goals for myself here.

1. Start and finish at least one new book this semester.
2. Eat more greens.
3. Restart yoga a few times a week.
4. Don’t spend ANY money on clothes unless it will make a good staple internship piece.
5. Wear retainer every night.
6. Blog at least once a week, whether it be here or on your other wordpress.

1496636_10152152880092302_1686183902_n

This entry was published on January 13, 2014 at 5:05 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Things ‘n Stuff 2

  1. Good, attainable goals.Just Do It Baby! As far as the whole time thing. Maybe because I am older or I have chosen to do some work around being in the moment, I have learned to savour the moments. Not always, but quite a bit more than I did as a younger man. One more year, eh? Hard to believe that I have been following your entire school your journey. That is really cool! Carry on, friend, carry on

    • Wow, I can’t believe we’ve been following each other that long! It’s almost insane to think about. Thank you for the support and kind words, as always. Your readership and comments never go unappreciated.

      Congrats again on your marriage! I’m so happy for you.

  2. I know those 5 o clock feels, got to do it five days a week for work =/
    You sound as though you have things under control, just keep on going and it’ll be over before you know it.

Leave a Reply

