Mixed Bag

Life has been a mixed bag.

Finals came and went, and I’m already on winter break. This was definitely one of the most difficult semesters for me, and I still don’t quite know why. I hardly ever needed to be at school, and I managed to get pretty good grades. But whatever. It’s somehow finally over and I already don’t remember any of it.

I’ve been applying for internships, and I heard back from a really exciting one. I really want it. It’s to assist on the morning lifestyle show of a prominent local news station. It would be such a great opportunity for me. I made it past round one of the interview process, and I just sent in my second application and writing sample. I need this job so that I can quit my other one.

One downside to things is that I got sick this past Saturday night at work. It’s been awful, but I’m getting better. Another downside is that a guy from my school was shot and killed by a campus police officer early Friday morning. He was in my Law and the Media class. I didn’t really know him, but he was always nice and had the answer to every question my professor threw at him. How could he or I or any of us have known that death was hanging so near all semester? How could we have felt death sit in the room with us every Monday night? How was he to know that death was but a backward glance away? It could’ve been me. It could’ve been anyone. There are still so few details to the story that I don’t know what to think yet. But I do know he didn’t deserve to die. And I feel sad for his friends and family because it didn’t have to be this way. There was an entire life in front of him, and now no one knows what it could have been. I bow my head to you, Cameron, and I hope that your soul finds peace.

butterfly

This entry was published on December 10, 2013 at 11:22 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

