Beautiful Ideas

Wow. My weekend was fantastical. It’s almost too much to write about.
On Friday, I drove 1.5 hours up to Austin to see my friend Molly* and go to the Animal Collective concert together. We had dinner, met up with a few of her friends, and went to the BEST SHOW I HAVE EVER SEEN. I’ve loved Animal Collective for years and years, and have always DREAMED of seeing them live. And I finally did! They were literally perfect. Their music is so experimental and organic and tribal, even though a lot of it is electronic. Holy craaaap, they were just…mind blowing. And to top it all off, Noah Lennox/Panda Bear came out to meet the few fans who stayed late in the rain. I saw him! I talked to him! I touched him! I hugged him!

I look totally insane, but I MET HIM!
He was very kind and soft-spoken. When I shook his hand and introduced myself, he said, “Hey, nice to meet you. I’m Noah,” as if I didn’t already know his name.
The show was phenomenal, and I’m still on a high/in a daze from it.

I then went back to Molly’s apartment where we talked and caught up (I hadn’t seen or hung out with her in a year or two) late into the night. The next morning was rainy and I got breakfast with Dan* at a legendary Austin restaurant. And man, people weren’t lying. Kerby Lane has the BEST pancakes and coffee. After breakfast, we went bowling, which turned out to be the worst idea ever. My first turn, I fell and completely ate it. In front of Dan. I dropped my ball and it went rolling into someone else’s lane and everything. My knees are super bruised up now, as is my dignity. We only played two games before parting ways.
Every time something goes wrong with Dan, my first instinct is to drop all of my feelings for him and cool it and just be friends. Needless to say, the drive home to San Antonio was not a happy one. However, some encouraging  words from Charlotte* and even Dan himself made me realize, once again, that I was being stupid.

This morning, I woke up feeling weird. I was going to call it in to work, but decided to just bite the bullet and go. It ended up being fine, though unforseen traffic caused me to be 30 minutes late. Luckily I didn’t get in trouble. One of my managers made me stay late since I came in late. Which was fine. But she was a rude about it. Her shift ended before mine, however, and my favorite manager took her place. About 10 minutes before it was time for me to leave, nice manager asked me to go to the back with her. I told her sure and asked what was up. She didn’t say anything, which sort of worried me. But when we reached the break room, she pulled open the freezer and handed me a popsicle and asked me about my day. Pretty darn amazing.
Then, on the way home, I listened to a CD Dan had given me. This song solidified every good feeling I had had over the weekend. And it also solidified my resolve to keep things on the up.
I feel good about myself and my life.

*names have been changed

This entry was published on October 1, 2012 at 12:08 AM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

