Discrimination

I don’t understand why my high school government teacher always tries to call me out on Facebook. I feel it was a mistake to add him. He likes controversy, I guess. But he’s definitely messing with the wrong person if he wants mental satisfaction.
This just further supports my theory that people take Facebook way too seriously. I posted a simple, silly status (accidental alliteration) about changing the punctuation and margin size on an essay to make it the full 8 pages. And he went all out on how I’m treating my education as a computer game. He’s welcome to read my 8 page essay on plastic pollution in the world’s oceans if that’s really what he thinks.
Why do people with seniority over me seem to think they have the right to treat me with disrespect? I’ve always felt that way, and it hasn’t changed even now that I’m in college. Probably the biggest grievance I hold with humankind is our need to be better than, and have power over others.
Sexism, sexual orientation discrimination, ageism, racism- all disgusting. Isn’t everyone in the world worth just as much as everyone else?

“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.”

…they will not be judged by [their gender], but by the content of their character.
…they will not be judged by [their sexual orientation], but by the content of their character.
…they will not be judged by [their age], but by the content of their character.

Isn’t it all the same?

I don’t even care about any argument anyone gives on any of the topics I listed. There is no excuse for discrimination of any kind. A person is a person is a person. And who gets the right to say, “I’m better than you. I deserve more than you. You are beneath me because you are different”?
Excuse my language, but fuck that.

This entry was published on May 2, 2012 at 10:16 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Discrimination

  1. Nynia Chance on said:

    Not that I know your professor, but I’ve kinda felt like part of humanity’s problem is that we tend to feel like we need outside validation to know that we’re worth something. And for people who don’t feel like they’re getting the right kind of validation that they’re “somebody”, they gotta “make their own” by trying to make others feel like “nobody”. Drag someone down so they can feel taller, I guess. So when they feel like they have some kind of authority, they gotta wield it like a club to remind themselves it’s supposed to mean something (to them).

    So it’s a kind of disease, that kind of arrogance and bigotry. I feel sad for them. I won’t tolerate it (and I can get inappropriately hitting-below-the-belt when I see it), but it does get my compassion. Because I can vent about their idiocy and move on with my life. They’re stuck with theirs.

  2. Strange Trip Studios on said:

    As long as humans have egos, we will judge. I am judged by having long hair, a fu manchu and sometimes worn clothing. What those that sit in judgement have not yet understood, I am comfortable in my own skin and neither seek nor need their validation…and I love the freakin’ DELETE button

    • You have a Fu Manchu??? Pretty sweet.
      I’m truly sorry to hear that you’ve been judged. You are a kind and talented person, and it’s their loss if anyone’s ever overlooked or been rude to you.
      Thanks, as always, for the support and wise words.

  3. Just delete him and move on, people like that aren’t worth the hassle in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

