At Work

I’m lucky to have a job so boring and uneventful where I can write blog posts during my shift. The library is a quiet place on Fridays. A cold, deserted, quiet place. My boss is on his lunch break, too. So literally, I am running the library…by blogging.

I believe that once a relationship is over, IT’S OVER. And trying to fix things or get back together will only end worse than it did the first time. It will result in the same pain, turmoil, anger, and sadness again. But worse.

One of my oldest and best friends is struggling with the same thing I went through. He is in a relationship that has long since expired, and can’t dig up the guts to end it. It’s poisoning his life and he knows it, but refuses to admit it. Whenever I try to give him advice or use myself as an example, he shrugs it off and agrees with me just so that I’ll stop talking about it. He’s afraid of confronting the problem because he’s afraid of the solution. But he’s only seeing the initial solution. He can’t comprehend what will happen afterwards: the relief, the freedom, the exhale of breath that he didn’t know he was holding in for so long, the inspiration, the possibilities he has now that he isn’t tied to someone he doesn’t love. It’s unfortunate that we can only see these things after we jump the hurdle. I get so mad at him for keeping himself in such an unhealthy place, but I guess I can’t blame him. I was there once, too. It has to be a decision you make on your own. I can’t force him to do it, even though more than once, I’ve contemplated slapping him across the face and screaming at him. There’s a song I love that exemplifies exactly what I think on the subject. I’ll also post some of the lyrics. Surfer Blood says it better than I can, anyway.

“Come on, man, you know that’s not good for you
Laugh it off now, but ‘I’ll be better soon.’
I’m just explaining what everyone’s already saying
You know I’m only looking out for you.

Say you don’t believe me; ‘I know better’
Flaking out again when we could be together.
You wonder why you’ve got no one else to turn to
You know I’m only looking out for you.

And I’m not ready to look the other way
Take a look under the microscope, man
Try and ignore the disarray.”

I only have an hour left at work, now. I’m ready to get in my car, turn on the heat, and listen to the new mixed CD I made.
Have a great weekend, everyone. And as always, thanks for reading!
-K

This entry was published on November 11, 2011 at 2:12 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

