Harry Potter vs. Winnie the Pooh

Yesterday my sister and I were watching TV, and the Winnie the Pooh trailer came on. At seeing its release date, my sister scoffed and commented “They chose a great day to release that movie, huh?” because we couldn’t help but notice that the release date, July 15, is the same as Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, and we couldn’t help but think that Harry potter will do tremendously better at the box office.
But since then, I’ve been pondering her remark. At first, I agreed wholeheartedly, because for about a month now, the only thing on my mind has been “Harry Potter, Harry Potter, HARRY POTTER!” And I know that most people feel the same. But I can’t help but remember that ever since I was a baby, I have loved Winnie the Pooh. I had (and still have) VHS’s of the show and endless books of my beloved cartoon. On weekdays when my mom worked, I would spend the day at my Granny’s apartment. And on some very special days, I would go over to my Uncle Stanley’s apartment, right across from my Granny’s, and we’d watch Winnie the Pooh tapes all day long. Those few days of magic are like treasure in my mind’s most sacred vault. My Uncle Stan passed away two years ago, and thinking back on those memories of he and I make me smile.
Not only do these pleasant memories resurface when I see the trailer for Winnie the Pooh, but the fact that “Somewhere Only We Know” by Keane (a very sentimental and wonderful song I have been in love with for 8 years) is the featured song makes tears of happiness and nostalgia bubble to my eyes. This almost makes me wonder if I am, after all, more excited for this movie than Harry Potter.
Many people may be aghast at this confession. And I myself am even a bit astonished, given the fact that Harry Potter has played a major (if not THE major) role in my childhood. I have read and re-read all seven books, I have watched and re-watched all six released movies over the span of about eleven years, and I have absolutely dreaded the day when both the books and the movies will cease to be made.
Perhaps part of the reason I am so looking forward to Winnie the Pooh over Harry Potter is because, while Winnie the Pooh will bring a revival of my childhood and all the happy, innocent memories associated with it, Harry potter will bring an end to them. Harry Potter being over will mean that my childhood has come to a close, and Winnie the Pooh making its big screen debut will mean that my childhood is not yet over, that some form of innocence still exists.
Either way, I’m going to see both movies, and I know they will each touch my heart in different ways. Maybe it’s not such a war between Harry Potter and Winnie the Pooh, but a transition between Adulthood and Childhood.

Some of my old Harry Potter inspired drawings, circa 2003.

This entry was published on July 11, 2011 at 11:16 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

