Please Answer

How do you know when it’s time to give up?
Whether it be a hobby you just can’t get the hang of, or a relationship. How do long do you have to keep going to realize there’s no future?
What happens when your painting or writing or guitar playing never cease to be amateur? Or when you are no longer just happy to be with the person you’re with?
How do you know which painting, poem, or song should be your last? Or which fight means you can no longer make it as a couple?
If there is a doubt in your mind, should you keep trying anyway?

It’s a constant battle between my natural rhythm of being a pessimist, and my desperate desire to keep optimistic. Back and forth the little angel and devil on my shoulders argue. “If you are doubting, then it’s over. End it,” says the devil. Then the angel retorts “You owe it to yourself to keep trying. You’ve made it this far. Don’t give up.”
I’ve been trying to be more assertive lately. Been trying to get what I want without being stomped on. Just trying to make my voice heard a little bit more often. And I feel I’ve been succeeding. So what should my “new self” do? Would giving up and listening to my sense of reason be the right choice for this new, more asserive me? Or is giving it yet another shot and believing in myself and making it work the best path?
I think I have my answer now.
I know it won’t be easy- it never has been, even from day one. But giving up would be cheating myself. Cheating myself out of something great.
Don’t give up.

This entry was published on May 17, 2011 at 8:50 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Please Answer

  1. For me, “giving up” is what happens when someone’s afraid of failing or trying. It’s not the same as stopping something because it’s no longer enjoyable. So if you enjoy something even though you’re not good at it, it’s ok! Sometimes it’s the process that matters and not the end product. Keep on truckin’!

  2. Thank you so so much for this comment. You just strengthened my optimistic feelings. I really appreciate it!

  3. saltybi11 on said:

    Sometimes you can change what you want to do and not actually be giving up! The best thing about plans is that they can be changed. Balence is not always easy to maintain…

    • That’s a great way to put it. I hadn’t really thought about altering my plans and tailoring what I do more into what I want. Thank you so much for this insight! That is the kind of thinking I need to do!

Leave a Reply

